Programme

This page shows upcoming events for the new
2018 / 2019 season.
Further information can be obtained from the club programme. You can download the full programme by clicking here

 

 THE SUMMER CHALLENGE 2018

Throughtout June, July and August you will be given three set subjects.
Note The PDI images for June must be taken in June, and the same for July and Augest.
Total – TWO PDI  images each month; representing your choice of two of the set subject. The Set subjects for JULY will be announced end of June. The Set subjects for AUGUST will be announced end of July.
June  -   RED / CLOUDS / PLAY
July - WET / TREES / PEOPLE.
August  -  SEA / HARVEST / ART

 

2018 - 19 SET SUBJECTS

PDI 1 “Light”
Images where light itself, or source of light, is the focus of the picture.

Print 1 “Man Made"
Images showing things manufactured , created or constructed by human beings.

PDI 2 “3".
Images where the idea or reality of three is conveyed.

Print 2 “Natural World"
Images containing animals, plants or other natural things existing in the natural environment.

PDI 3 “Mood /Atmosphere"
Images that show or create feelings or emotions.

Print 3 “A Moment in Time"
Images taken at the point in time where something is seen happens. This may capture a movement.

 

Programme  2018-2019 

 

Thursday 6th September
Welcome Back Meeting. 
Drinks and Nibbles Provided

Thursday 13th September
Evening with Peter Merrick

Thursday 20th September
Guest Speaker: Glyn Bareham LRPS, CPAGB
"Every Picture Tells A Story" and "Through The Lens From The Heart"

Thursday 27th September
Open PDI Competition Round 1
Judge: Keith Gibson

Tuesday 2nd October
Workshop with Peter Merrick Part 1

Thursday 4th October
A Presentation by Jessops

Thursday 11th October
Open Print Competition Round 1
Judge: Walter Benzie ARPS, FRPS

Thursday 18th October
Inter-Club with Worthing
Hosted by Southwick
Judge: Bob Webzell ARPS, EFIAP

Thursday 25th October
Guest Speaker Alec Pelham CPAGB
"On The Trail Of Lewis And Clarke

Thursday 1st November
Set Subject PDI Competition Round 1: "Light"
Judge: Malcolm Bull

Tuesday 6th November
Workshop with Peter Merrick Part 2

Thursday 8th November
Evening with Rodger Boakes
An Introduction to "Affinity"

Thursday 15th November
A presentation by Murruts
Information on using differant types of photographic paper.

Saturday 17th November
Sussex Federation PDI at the Kings Centre, Burgess Hill

Thursday 22nd November
Print Set Subject Round 1: "Man Made"
Judge: Steve Yates

Tuesday 27th November
Regnum Print hosted by Worthing

Thursday 29th November
10 Minutes of Fame Club Members Night

Tuesday 4th December
Workshop with Peter Merrick Part 3

Thursday 6th December
An evening with Len Brook

Thursday 13th December
PDI Open Round 2
Judge David Eastley

Monday 17th December
3 Way Inter-Club Christmas fun "Mix n Match"
hosted by Steyning

Thursday 20th December
Christmas Quiz Evening

CHRISTMAS AND NEW YEAR BREAK

Thursday 3rd January
Guest Speakers: Wendy and Michael Ball
"The Joys and Challenges of Wildlife Photographers"

Thursday 10th January
Open Print Competition Round 2
Judge: Catherine Jolley LRPS, LBPPA, ASWPP

Thursday 17th January 2019
Knock Out PDI

Wednesday 23rd January
Presentation of our work to Littlehampton C. C. members
Hosted by Littlehampton

Thursday 24th January
PDI Competition Set Subject Round 2: "3"
Judge: Alec Pelham CPAGB

Thursday 31st January
An Evening with Paul Lyacock and James Harrison-Bodle

Tuesday 5th February
Workshop with Peter Merrick Part 4

Thursday 7th February
Print Set Subject Round 2: "Natural World"
Judge: Rob De Ruiter LRPS

Thursday 14th February
Summer Challenge Competition

Thursday 21st February
PDI Open Round 3
Judge: Ken Scott ARPS

Thursday 28th February
Inter-Club International Competition With Maroondah Photographic Soc. Melbourne
Judge: Robin Harmsworth

CLUB ANNUAL DINNER

Tuesday 5th March
Workshop with Peter Merrick Part 5

Thursday 7th March
Guest Speaker: John Fox
"32 Years As A Press Photographer"

Thursday 14th March
Open Print Competition Round 3
Judge: Bob Webzell ARPS, EFIAPP 

Thursday 21st March
Littlehampton C.C. To present their work to our club

Friday 22nd March
Regnum Crouch PDI hosted by Henfield

Monday 25th March
South Downs Trophy
hosted by Steyning

Thursday 28th March
PDI Set Subject Round 3: Mood/Atmosphere
Judge: Paul O’Toole

Tuesday 2nd April
Workshop with Peter Merrick Part 6

Thursday 4th April
A Presentation by Park Cameras

Thursday 11th April
Guest Speaker: Matt Gould
Talk on "Wildlife"

Thursday 18th April
Set Subject Print Competition Round 3: "A Moment in Time"
Judge: Lisa Beaney

Thursday 25th April
Inter-Club with South Manchester C.C.
Judge: David Eastley LRPS

Thursday 2nd May
Result of Photo Hunt Weekend
(taken on Photo Hunt on the weekend of 2nd and 3rd March)

Thursday 9th May
Print of the Year Competition
Judge: Glyn Bareham LRPS, CPAGB

Thursday 16th May
PDI of the Year
Judge: Steve Lawrenson LRPS, CPAGB

RULES FOR PDI & PRINT OF THE YEAR
PDI/Print of the Year: images must have been entered in a PDI/Print competition this club year. Alterations recommended by the judge at the time can be implemented this is acceptable. Images will be not be judged in groups but as a whole member club.

Thursday 23rd May
The A.G.M.
A chance for the committee to hear members views and election of new committee members

Thursday 30th May
End of Season Social and Awards Evening
Guest: Tim Loughton M.P.

EXTERNAL COMPETITIONS
Inter-Club Worthing 18th October
Sussex Federation PDI Championships 17th November
Regnum Crouch Print 27th November
Inter-Club Fun Night 17th December
Inter-Club Maroondah 28th February
Regnum Crouch PDI 22nd March
South Downs Trophy 25th March
Sussex Federation Print Championships TBA

 For Club Fees see "About" page for latest subscription charges.
Subscriptions are due on the first Club Meeting. However, if you wish to pay by BACS email the treasurer for details